Brawther & Alixkun – Once Upon A Time In Japan – Les Disques Mystiques/Jazzy Couscous

Brawther & Alixkun CompiliationFrench diggers Brawther & Alixkun bring together a collection of eastern promise

It seems the flow of early day deep house sounds from the far east continue to flow abound with France’s Brawther and Alixkun following in the footsteps of Rush Hour, to compile this superb collection of 15 tracks from Japan.

Unearthed from the early days of electronic dance music, back when the genre was sweeping across the globe – the pair have carefully selected a set of gems that take in deep and blissful grooves to upfront acid that melded to form the blueprint of the Japan’s take on the sound in the early 1990s.In advance of a related documentary project titled ‘HOUSE’ (in Japanese), the compilation is the first to showcase a full spectrum of works by Japanese artists – made up of sparkling classics alongside some killer rare pieces. Incorporating music from legends like Soichi Terada, Yukihiro Fukutomi and The Ecstasy Boys – you’ll also find cuts back to back with work by some truly unsung heroes, namely Takecha, Magic Ware and Katsumi Hidano.

Whether you’re a house music lover or overall music enthusiast, this compilation is a one stop shop and shows some real love, as the two have evidently gone to some great lengths to unveil the mystery behind all of the selected tracks. Shining a brand new light on a whole scene that has hitherto laid dormant, full credit is due for having dusted off and expertly remastered all of the material.


A1 T.P.O. – Punk Inc. (Hiroshi’s Dub)
A2 Katsuya – I Need Luv
B1 The Ecstasy Boys Ft. Shiro Amamiya – Chi Chi Chi Gan Kanon
B2 Jazzadelic – I Got A Rhythm (1991 original mix)
C1 Akiko Kanazawa – Sawauchi Jinku (Terada mix)
C2 Yutsuko Chusonji – Blessing (Magic Ware Remix)
C3 YPF – Trance of Love (Tokyo Offshore Mix)
D1 Yukihiro Fukutomi – It’s Gonna Be Alright
D2 Hiroshi Matsui – Crazy Miracle Dub
E1 Takeharu Kunimoto – Home (6 a.m. mix)
E2 Violets – Sunset
E3 GWM – Deep Loop (edit)
F1 Fake – Square
F2 Hiraku Nagasawa – Matrix Track
F3 Dan K – Turquoise Love